The Charge – A dangerous prayer

I woke up this morning with a realisation of how deep our calling is.

I say our, because the preaching of the Gospel isn’t just for the Preacher, the Singer or the Outreach Coordinator, but its for us all. It’s our life’s duty- serving the Lord God Almighty. I don’t think we understand how serious our mission actually is, I certainly forget from time to time!

As time gets closer to The End of Time, I keep asking myself if i’m doing enough. It’s not because I want to work my way into heaven, no, far from it! Through faith I accept the grace of God by which I am saved. I ask myself if i’m doing enough because The Spirit of God constantly urges me to pray a certain prayer each day, a prayer I have heard some call… The Dangerous Prayer.

Dear God,

Help me to be a witness for You today please,

Thank You, Amen.

I have always said to be careful what you pray for, just in case you do receive it!

Having been woken up every single day from the first day of my life, I am too blessed to not do more about letting people know the God that I serve, the very thing they are truly missing out on.

Evangelism in an imperative feature of our Christian journey…

…It’s how we G R O W, Learn more, see more and understand more. It is how we can be ‘co-laborers with Christ’ in directing souls to God- the most noble and marvelous work ever. And I am not the most confident when it comes to randomly walking up to someone in town with a LEAFLET IN MY HAND, however, my confidence in Christ is enough to start it off (all i need in fact!).

When I look at my life and see what God has done been doing and what i believe He will do, I cant help but want to share.

The main thing i am scared of though, is rejection. I mean, nobody likes to be fobbed off or even just ignored and laughed at, but we forget that Jesus suffered many persecutions, scorns and horrible horrible experiences, still He knew that He needed to spread the Gospel of Love to a dying world and He did that for me AND for you!

Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me. Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you. (Matthew 5:11-12)

Here is the ultimate encouragement from Jesus himself, to those who are fearful of preaching Go Ahead! YOU ARE BLESSED. After these passages He then goes onto to say how we are the salt of the earth, the light of the world that cannot be dimmed. Friends, Jesus knows what we go through and He has given us the courage to do this in His power 🙂

You are not alone, you should talk to God about your doubts and fears concerning this calling upon your life, trust me, He will put you in places that are flooded with opportunities to witness for Him. The more you do it, the more you will see the power of the Gospel.

Afraid of sticking out like a sore thumb, being different and rejected?

Those who are employed to stand along the high street offering compensation or free insulation or just asking for your monthly donations to a charity (excuse my ignorance here), are there consistently because they believe in their cause for being there! How much more so , should we as followers of the true living God Jesus Christ, believe in the message of Hope for all?

Be confident in your faith and remember…

  1. Others around you will be motivated and inspired to join you in standing out and being more of a witness.
  2. You will have opposition, but greater is He that is in you, than he that is in the world! Everlasting life with God is worth soooo much more than worldly acceptance and temporary fame.
  3. You are not alone. God is with you and He has called us all. This is why I am writing this, because I know I am not the only one who feels stuck in her ‘witness jacket’ wanting to do more for Jesus.
  4. Ask Believe & Claim the promises of God to encourage you along your journey.

I challenge both myself, and all who will read this…

To be the voice, the difference, the Christian who is true to their purpose. I challenge us both to come away from ‘home comforts’ and stand out in the world, showing who we truly worship by our entire conduct. I challenge us both to stand up for Jesus because the time of His return is near.

God Bless

Dest x

Leave a Reply

