When females empower females

“Ladies this is life, we are all completely different. You’re unique and I am unique. You’re good at A and B and I’m good at C and D. Competing with each other is a frivolous exercise!”

Diary of a maverick

There is so much truth in this quote by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (which I’m sure you’ve probably heard in Beyonce’s song Flawless)…

‘We raise girls to see each other as competitors not for jobs or accomplishments, which I think can be a good thing, but for the attention of men.’ 

If you get a chance go read her book. I’m not saying I agree with everything within it, however it certainly made me think and question my views. But on this point I completely agree, society has pitted us females against each other, especially when it comes to men.

So what sparked this post? A few months ago I walked into the female toilets and heard some teenagers talking. There conversation went somewhere along the lines of…

Girl 1: ‘Do you think she’s pretty.’ Girl 2: ‘Hmmm.’ The three girls proceed to laugh aloud. Girl 3: ‘Well she’s not a…

View original post 631 more words

Leave a Reply

