Bye, Sorry Girl #byesadgirl

This post was inspired by the artist Hollyn –  & her newly released project – Bye, Sad Girl.

WhatsApp Image 2019-05-10 at 20.01.23

We have all heard it..”Stop Feeling Sorry For Yourself!”
This is a story of a girl who knew no better than to pity herself, in light of all the seemingly unfortunate circumstances that came her way. She would once get sad & anxious, more times in a month than she wanted to, & crying was part of her routine. It was only on “good days” that she might NOT have spilt her mind out onto her yellowed journal pages; other times, she just couldn’t put the pen down. With God to complain to & her boyfriend to listen to her pitiful monologues, her world was getting dark.

This girl was me. I thank God for the past tense, because it was about to get INtense if i hadn’t already! Along the spiral of pity, there is selfishness, anxiety, loneliness, guilt, false guilt and depression. Here are are 5 things that helped me in this season, and still now…

Education
Friendship
Counsel
Prayer
Meditation

I was lead to a place where I could detach myself from “sorry girl”, no longer my destiny, no longer me. Although a continuing journey, when I am tempted to take sorry girl’s hand, I can refuse in strength and victory.

Hearing the story behind Hollyn’s Bye Sad Girl project, I was instantly liberated! I know we are all, in some way, suffering darkness in what we often forget is a spiritual battle too! I was encouraged by the song and it’s message of finally letting go of the comforting choking we are all too familiar with.

I encourage you to start your journey of saying goodbye ______ girl/guy.

I encourage you to be free.

 

Leave a Comment