Period Pains & Holistic Wellness

For as long as I can remember, I have had “bad period pains”. I know that phrase means different things for different women and so for me, here’s what it looked like over the  years.

  • Absolutely every day one – day 3 spent in bed
  • Dizziness for days where spinning seemed normal
  • Horrid cramping and feeling sick
  • Just wanting to sleep all the time

I used to take Feminax Ultra (the blue packet) over the counter, as that was the only thing that was strong enough, then eventually, that didn’t help anymore. Suffering with IBS for many years (more about that in another post), meant I needed to take care of my gut more so than anything else as that is where all health lies! Painkillers and drugs really do mess up your gut bacteria and since I don’t have a lot of good bacteria in my tummy anyways, I really had to make the change from drugs to natural, lasting remedies.

logan-nolin-EvceCyopkKI-unsplash

When you go natural, it is important to understand that your body needs time to adjust. You have taught it to cooperate with strong medicines, drugs and synthetic things for however long, and so you must be patient and mindful going into a life of wellness again. 

Consistency is key, and after giving my body room to receive natural treatments I was ready to see & feel change! I am happy to say that after a week of natural treatment and a long journey towards consistency, I no longer have cramps  that cause me to reach for pain killers. Yayy!! Here’s what I do…

Daily Supplements:

  • Evening Primrose Oil
  • Vitamin B Complex 
  • Iron & Zinc (after years of this, I only now take these occasionally as my food intake covers it usually)

brooke-lark-08bOYnH_r_E-unsplash

Externals:

  • Natural body products like shower gels, toothpaste, deodorants and creams…
  • BeYou patches: These are new and amazing! It’s basically a plaster infused with natural oils like eucalyptus and menthol, that can last up to 12 hours. I use these as soon as i feel the pain coming on during day 1 of my period. I use it on my lower back and on my tummy and they really do help me forget about the slight cramps I may get now and again. Make sure you seal the packet and open your pores with a warm flannel after patch use. 

mindbodystock-pa_mcjjynoa-unsplash.jpg

  • Prayer & Meditation
  • Exercise: I like to do Hiit Yoga, trampolining and general gym when I can. I tell you, this is key guys!
  • Hot baths with Epsom salts for magnesium intake! At least once a week if you can

alison-marras-RhtG6MzYMG8-unsplash

Foods:

  • EAT/DRINK YOUR GREENS
  • Turmeric (is the earth’s real gold!) It is anti inflammatory and drinking a tumeric tea with cayenne pepper and ginger will help ease your pains for sure. Drink this every week of every month!
  • Avocado, Beetroot, Pomegranate, Pineapple... (to name a few!)
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
  • leave dairy alone (inflammation overload! That includes chocolate)
  • leave sugar and refined foods alone (Tastes good I know but good for nothing!)
  • leave animal products alone (Yes, consider going vegan/plant based!)
  • Drink more water. I can’t tell you how much more water we should be going for!

I found once I started to intentionally wake up and manifest good health into my life, these practises became 2nd nature to me. An overall approach to good health is better than picking and choosing here and there. Try to be consistent with what you do and you will see results.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Stay Blessed,

Dest x

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment